Democratic Opposition In Belarus Awarded 2020 Sakharov Prize

The democratic opposition in Belarus has been awarded the 2020 Sakharov Prize by the European Parliament.

The annual human rights prize is named after the Soviet physicist and dissident Andrei Sakharov and was established in 1988 by the European Parliament to honor individuals and organizations defending human rights and fundamental freedoms.

The Belarusian Association of Journalists and the former Belarusian Presidential candidate Alyaksandr Milinkievich were awarded the prize in 2004 and 2006 respectively.

The prize will be awarded in a ceremony at the Parliament on 16 December. The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought is named after Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov. It was established in 1988 to honour individuals and organisations that defend human rights and fundamental freedoms.

Last year the prize was awarded to Uyghur economist Ilham Tohti.

Latest News

Stefan Zrinzo Azzopardi
Valletta Balconies Regneration

This was created and maintained with the financial support of the European Union.

Its contents are the sole responsibility of and do not necessarily reflect the views of the European Union

A Ci Consulta project managed by Comuniq.EU - designed by Bold Identities - Photos - Corporate Identities, DOI